Colorado, 2011

 

After we left Grand Junction, I used to lie in the new house in Arizona, crying and listening to Judy Collin’s sing “Colorado” on my dad’s stereo. The topic of the song–a one night stand in the midst of a snow storm–was beyond my ken, but the longing and mourning sound was exactly how I felt leaving the high desert, peach trees, and Mount Garfield.

Starting to pull the pianist out of her background.
Starting to pull the pianist out of her background.

While “Colorado” is all paint, with no collage underneath, I found the design in my psyche in the same way as I do with my PEMA© collage paintings. The artist who invented PEMA, Christine Kuhn, started teaching us the technique first with swirls of bright paint we covered with a dark wash before moving to the collage and dark wash technique that was the goal. The image at the side was the beginning of the process of pulling her out of the background.

24×18 Acrylic
The original has been sold

Prints available in my FineArtAmerica store, which you can also access through the Whims and Whimsy Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

